Kansas DMV Registration and Renewal

Kansas DMV Registration and Renewal

page is intended to supply you with all of the information you need to register your car and renew your registration in the state of Kansas.

CartagzInsurance-Ad2

 

Kansas DMV Registration and Renewal

Your Initial Registration

The Kansas Department of Revenue (DOR) handles registration and renewal. If you just moved to Kansas, state law requires you to register your vehicle with the Department of Revenue within 90 days of gaining residency. Before applying for registration, your out of state vehicle must pass a vehicle inspection conducted by the Kansas Highway Patrol.

Contact the DOR and ask for the closest motor vehicle inspection station. Bring your driver’s license, your car’s title, and $20 to cover the inspection fee.

Once your car passes, you will receive your Motor Vehicle Examination Certificate, which is required to register your out of state car.

To register, visit your local county treasurer’s office and bring:

  • Proof of car insurance
  • The cars title
  • A completed Title and Registration Manual Application
  • Your Motor Vehicle Examination Certificate
  • Payment for fees

If you purchased a vehicle from a dealership in the state of Kansas, they should take care of the titling and registration for you. If you buy from a private party in state, visit your county treasurer’s office with the following:

  • The vehicle’ s signed over title
  • Proof of Kansas auto insurance
  • A bill of sale
  • A completed Title and Registration Manual Application
  • Payment for fees

Once your registration is complete, you will be issued your registration certificate, tags, and Kansas plates.

 

Military Drivers

If you are a Kansas resident serving full time in the military, you are eligible for a motor vehicle tax exemption. You can apply by sending an Affidavit for Motor Vehicle Tax Exemption to your local county treasurer’s office. You may be asked to provide additional documentation.

If you are a non-resident that is stationed in Kansas, you do not need to register your vehicle with the Department of Revenue. However, in order to drive in Kansas, non-residents must have auto insurance and current registration from their home state.

 

Renewing Your Registration in Kansas

The DOR will send you a renewal notice a few weeks before your registration expires. This notice contains the total cost of your renewal fees and the date of your current registration expiration. It will also list an online renewal PIN (if applicable) and any outstanding issues (taxes, tickets) that must be resolved before renewal. If you did not receive your renewal notice, call (785) 296-3621.

 

Renewal Options

Unlike your initial registration, you are not required to make a personal visit to the county treasurer’s office to renew (but it is still an option). In addition, you may renew online or by mail.

 

Online

Visit the DOR KSWebTags webpage and enter the PIN included on your renewal notice. You will be asked to enter your vehicle year and the payment information if you are paying by credit or debit card. Once you complete the process, print out the confirmation. Your new registration certificate and tags should arrive via mail in around 10 days.

 

In Person

If you did not receive a renewal notice, your only option is to renew in person. To renew in person, visit your local county treasurer’s office with your DOR notice (if you received it), your current registration or license plate number, proof of insurance, and payment for your fee. You will receive your new registration certificate and tags before you leave.

 

Mail

To renew by mail, make sure all of the information on your renewal notice is correct. Write a check or money order to the DOR for the fee listed on the notice. Mail the check and the notice itself to the address listed on the renewal notice. You may also need to include a copy of your proof of insurance if it is specified on your renewal notice. Your new registration and certificate tags will be mailed to you and should arrive in around 10 days.


Official – DMVregistration.com®, INC IS LICENSED BY THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA, DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES. THIS SERVICE HAS NOT BEEN APPROVED OR ENDORSED BY ANY GOVERNMENTAL AGENCY, AND THIS OFFER IS NOT BEING MADE BY AN AGENCY OF THE GOVERNMENT.CALIFORNIA VEHICLE CODE (CVC) SECTION 1685.